Checking in – Eight Lessons

Again, questions referred to:

  1. Balance while playing
  2. Sound after lesson
  3. Sound days after lesson
  4. Sound (lie down)
  5. Musical timing
  6. Difficult music
  7. Practice/performance
  8. Energy/endurance

” I came to it with an open mind” Quinn wrote, “and kept my mind as open as I could for as long as I could, but the lessons have honestly had almost no lasting effect on me.”

Quinn responded with 1’s, or weakest connections, for all eight of the areas. In contrast, after four lessons Quinn had assigned a 4 out of 5 to three categories, (with the rest being 1 out of 5) those being 1. Balance while playing, 2. Sound after lesson, and 4. Sound after lie down.

“I have never had a serious injury from playing,” he added, “so maybe I just don’t know what to look for … I think it just didn’t really speak to me.”

He characterizes it as “somewhat incomprehensible.”


Understanding that the questions don’t allow for objectivity, in all but one category Carmen gave either the same mark or a higher mark. The only category in which she reported a lower rating was “Difficult music.” After four lessons she assigned a 5 to that category, adding, “Last night, I performed a show-piece for my studio’s recital. I don’t think I could have approached it with confidence – especially given I was performing from memory – without AT techniques I’ve learned to “relax” my body.”

Carmen’s responses, compared (She did not add anything in the way of comments related to the lessons.)

Question 4 wks 8 wks
1. Balance 4 4.5
2. Sound after lesson 2 3
3. Sound days after 4 4
4. Sound after lie-down 1 1
5. Musical timing 1 4
6. Difficult music 5 1
7. Practice/performance 3 5
8. Energy/endurance 5 5

Her full responses after eight lessons:

  1. Balance while playing 4.5 – this has gotten a lot better over time. In performance, I still arch my back a bit, but rehearsals and seated practice are a lot less tiring, and I experience little to no back pain afterwards.
  2. Sound after lesson 3
  3. Sound days after lesson 4 – when I can think about things in the moment, yes! In the practice room, this is a lot more consistent than during performance.
  4. Sound after lie down 1
  5. Musical timing 4 – I’ve been writing little stars in my music where I can check in with my body. It allows me to take some time in that moment to change timbre/colour/etc.
  6. Difficult music 1
  7. Practice/performance 5 for practice, 2.5 for performing
  8. Energy/endurance 5!!! Yes!!! So much.

Leave a comment